Magic Helicopter Press


• 4 30 2017 •

Spring is a time when flowers you have never seen turn colors you don't know the names of.

Which makes it a great time to reveal our newest chapbook—maybe the most mysterious thing we've ever published!

Jessica Baer's
 ~~ Holodeck One ~~

Horses and holographs. Identity as orbit. A bricolage of psychocartography, a prism in love, poems for when the aliens finally come but only want to talk to the rocks. Holodeck One is Jessica Baer's debut chapbook, and it's a mysterious new technology. One that deweaponizes the language of self-constriction, one for all the noises that noise leaves out.

Mónica de la Torre says, "The norms limiting the sayable are as pulverized in Baer’s hands as in the poetry of Perlongher, Sarduy, Lezama Lima, Haroldo de Campos ... Witness language acquiring a propulsive force shattering the time and space divide ... Sheer verbal articulations at the limits of desire and expression, “full of trans / verse wavenoise.”"

The first 10 pre-orders
will receive special custom
 infinite horse flipbooks 
each with its own new one word poem
by Jessica Baer!

Get Holodeck One!

Like many writers and small presses, we were in DC for AWP. If you don't know what AWP is, it's basically South by Southwest for literary scribblers, a gooey hybrid of small press frenzy and academic hustle.

We had a lovely time high-fiving our friends, harassing our representatives, and eating Peruvian chicken

In the bookfair, we joined forces with our old friends at Juked.

And because friends are the only thing that makes all the storms worth passing, we also shared our half of the table with lovely books from Big Lucks, Sator Press, and Called Back Books.

Finally, we loved seeing Hossannah Asuncion and Kamden Hilliard do toasts with a bunch of slick folks at TOAST, An AWP Offsite Event. This event raised money for Writers in Baltimore Schools, a meaningful and hardworking organization!

The Campfire Sale

raised $645.89
for many great organizations.

Thank you so much for buying books. We are thrilled for you to read these books, and we are excited to donate your money to the good places where our authors chose to donate proceeds.

What was the Campfire Sale?

Don't forget about our two newest full-length releases:

Hossannah Asuncion's Object Permanence and Ben Hersey's The Autograph of Steve Industry.

Did you feel that cold spot in the room? Did you see the cleaning through the window, another grieving ritual?

In a different neighborhood, the shroud says pamilya, pamilya. Gills itch under the patches of fiberglass, and a city comes alive in each “isolated cell of an animated beehive.”

Hossannah Asuncion’s debut collection of poetry, Object Permanence, maps between all meanings of address. Tangling the softest hands and truest questions, Asuncion holds open every automatic door, suspends all announcements of departure.

Rachel Eliza Griffiths says, “Hossannah Asuncion’s brutal cartography insists that we lose the flesh and fears we use to create borders, especially from the deepest psychic dislocations, desires, and voids within ourselves. I’m in awe of how Asuncion writes inside the nuanced marrow of intimacy.”

And Chiwan Choi says, “The poems in Object Permanence took me back to places I thought I didn’t want to return. Streets and nights and bars and beds. To lovers and death and longing. To loneliness and moments where I thought I was losing grasp of life. But somewhere, sometime, in between the first and the final brutally gorgeous piece, I learned to cherish my pain again.”

Get Object Permanence!

You can hear Steve in the backyard, but you should've seen him on the porch.

Bob Seger-loving, Dunkies-sipping, warding off the backslide. His band is The Steamrollers. His wife is Saundra (for now). His daughter is Nancy, and her favorite word is shampoo or loops or whatever friggin suits her.

Through four seasons and a restless survey, Kelly’s Roast Beef and Salisbury Beach, Steve Industry leaks his heart into his harmonica solo.

Hilarious and tender, Ben Hersey’s debut novel disgorges a powerful new vision of contemporary working class New England.

Rachel B. Glaser says, “The Autograph of Steve Industry is a mind-trip between Dickens and Kid Rock.” And Laird Hunt says, “ The Autograph of Steve Industry is set now, and tells a tale of these tricky times, but there are big, older urgencies at work…’”

Get The Autograph of Steve Industry!

Massive thanks to Jessica Baer and their friends for tabling for MHP under the Book Fort tent at Pitchfork Music Festival!

And thanks to all our friends in Chicago who swung by! Here are some pictures:

Back in the ancient days of 2015, we held an open reading period with some categories. It was fun! Here are the open reading period selections!

First off, thank you to everyone who sent us manuscripts! Wow—so much great stuff out there, and it was so great to read work by people we've never read before, as well as discover new work by folks who turned out to be old friends.

And special thanks to Assistant Editor Rebekah Hewitt for her help reading poetry and chapbook manuscripts!

And we also had a satisfying time putting together approximately 4,863,453,629 custom PDF catalog samplers as thanks for everyone's reading fee support. Our reading fees were a choice of $2 to $5, and in turn everyone got to choose three MHP titles to form a 30 to 60 page sampler of excerpts.

Our series selections below will form the bulk of our 2016 catalog, which we couldn't be happier about! Instead of having one "winner" for each series and then a list of "finalists," we decided to embrace the fact this was never a contest and just publish all our favorites as series selections.

We hope to introduce each author and manuscript to you with a special interview series that we'll be running through the rest of this year.

Without further ado, the selections (and a little about the people behind the names of each series):

There you have it. See you in the olive grove!

Copyright © All rights reserved